suffolk history

The Constantia House: An Enduring Piece of Suffolk History

Mr. John Constant was one of the first English speaking settlers in the Suffolk, Virginia area. He established a trading business and built a warehouse on the Nansemond River. He named this area Constant?s Wharf. On the highest bluff close to the river, he built his home-thought to be the oldest house in what we now call Suffolk. This house was built around 1724 and was lovingly called the Constantia. Pieces of the original foundation can still be viewed in Cedar Hill Cemetery.